orgads / rpms / kernel

Forked from rpms/kernel 2 years ago
Clone
Blob Blame History Raw
From patchwork Thu Oct  5 11:29:17 2017
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Subject: [v2] drm/gem-cma-helper: Change the level of the allocation failure
 message
From: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>
X-Patchwork-Id: 180737
Message-Id: <20171005112917.15949-1-boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>
To: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
 dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>
Date: Thu,  5 Oct 2017 13:29:17 +0200

drm_gem_cma_create() prints an error message when dma_alloc_wc() fails to
allocate the amount of memory we requested. This can lead to annoying
error messages when CMA is only one possible source of memory for the BO
allocation. Turn this error message into a debug one.

Signed-off-by: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>
Reviewed-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Reviewed-by: Eric Engestrom <eric.engestrom@imgtec.com>
Reviewed-by: Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
---
Changes in v2:
- Remove __must_check attribute
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_gem_cma_helper.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_gem_cma_helper.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_gem_cma_helper.c
index 373e33f22be4..020e7668dfab 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_gem_cma_helper.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_gem_cma_helper.c
@@ -112,7 +112,7 @@ struct drm_gem_cma_object *drm_gem_cma_create(struct drm_device *drm,
 	cma_obj->vaddr = dma_alloc_wc(drm->dev, size, &cma_obj->paddr,
 				      GFP_KERNEL | __GFP_NOWARN);
 	if (!cma_obj->vaddr) {
-		dev_err(drm->dev, "failed to allocate buffer with size %zu\n",
+		dev_dbg(drm->dev, "failed to allocate buffer with size %zu\n",
 			size);
 		ret = -ENOMEM;
 		goto error;