Blob Blame Raw
From 0567c3f91a89c476b29341e581aac0e522d26717 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Max Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>
Date: Sun, 19 Jan 2014 18:08:00 +0100
Subject: [PATCH 26/34] block/drive-mirror: Reuse backing HD for sync=none

RH-Author: Max Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>
Message-id: <1390154881-17140-7-git-send-email-mreitz@redhat.com>
Patchwork-id: 56819
O-Subject: [RHEL-7.0 qemu-kvm PATCH v2 6/7] block/drive-mirror: Reuse backing HD for sync=none
Bugzilla: 921890
RH-Acked-by: Fam Zheng <famz@redhat.com>
RH-Acked-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
RH-Acked-by: Jeffrey Cody <jcody@redhat.com>

BZ: 921890

For "none" sync mode in "absolute-paths" mode, the current image should
be used as the backing file for the newly created image.

The current behavior is:
a) If the image to be mirrored has a backing file, use that (which is
   wrong, since the operations recorded by "none" are applied to the
   image itself, not to its backing file).
b) If the image to be mirrored lacks a backing file, the target doesn't
   have one either (which is not really wrong, but not really right,
   either; "none" records a set of operations executed on the image
   file, therefore having no backing file to apply these operations on
   seems rather pointless).

For a, this is clearly a bugfix. For b, it is still a bugfix, although
it might break existing API - but since that case crashed qemu just
three weeks ago (before 1452686495922b81d6cf43edf025c1aef15965c0), we
can safely assume there is no such API relying on that case yet.

Suggested-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Max Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Eric Blake <eblake@redhat.com>
Message-id: 1385407736-13941-2-git-send-email-mreitz@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@amazon.com>
(cherry picked from commit 117e0c82881f05d88902d4059a3171bc6cd02df0)

Signed-off-by: Max Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>
---
 blockdev.c | 3 +++
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

Signed-off-by: Miroslav Rezanina <mrezanin@redhat.com>
---
 blockdev.c |    3 +++
 1 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)

diff --git a/blockdev.c b/blockdev.c
index 06bbf30..80c6bb4 100644
--- a/blockdev.c
+++ b/blockdev.c
@@ -1604,6 +1604,9 @@ void qmp_drive_mirror(const char *device, const char *target,
     if (!source && sync == MIRROR_SYNC_MODE_TOP) {
         sync = MIRROR_SYNC_MODE_FULL;
     }
+    if (sync == MIRROR_SYNC_MODE_NONE) {
+        source = bs;
+    }
 
     size = bdrv_getlength(bs);
     if (size < 0) {
-- 
1.7.1